See all journals...

Current Top-Rated Posters

RatingPosts
James in Beaumont, TX0.002
Timmy Weeks0.001
Steve0.002

Thanks for the great book and website.
Jeremiah H., Lehi, UT

Try one of our new Construction Bargain Strategies for free. Coupon code: CBS. One strategy could save you $1,000 or $10,000 or maybe $50,000 when you build or remodel.
25,000 pages of free owner-builder resources.  We accept no ads.

Nervous in Michigan

Filter by date: and/or Keyword

Reply... Subscribe to this topic

matt's Forum Posts: 2

Private Message

Randomly Selected Image

Login to Vote

By matt in ravenna, MI on 4/18/2007

Hello everybody!  I've read most of the the OB books and listened to many of the mp3s, etc.  I am considering a project here in W. Michigan, but am really nervous about beginning the process.  I don't know if it's because of the market conditions or the fact that I have never built before, but I am very unsure.  Any suggestions to get my project jump-started?
Reply...

Doug's Forum Posts: 31
Interview Answers: 2

Private Message

Randomly Selected Image

Login to Vote

By Doug in Lawrence, KS on 4/18/2007

"Nervous" is a good place to start... ; -)

I have remodeled houses as a "hobby" over the years and recently completed my first spec house.  I plan to build my families home this summer and "nervous" doesn't begin to describe the apprehension I have.  Building a house is a tremendous undertaking, one that can not be fully appreciated until you live the experience.  Planning is crucial to the overall success of the project!!!  Plan and replan and plan some more.  Every detail needs to be thought out before the first nail is driven.  

If you are new to the business, hiring a consultant is a very wise investment.  But, as with anything, clearly define and provide in writing your expectations of advice and amount of help for fees paid. 

Reply...

Michael Penn's Forum Posts: 81
Journal Entries: 55
Interview Answers: 58

Private Message

My Construction Website