g4wowgwow
468 Visits | 1 Posts | 0 Pix | 0 Videos
My1stOB Melbourne, FL
627 Visits | 1 Posts | 0 Pix | 0 Videos
See all journals...

Current Top-Rated Posters

Love your site.
Mike Patton

Try one of our new Construction Bargain Strategies for free. Coupon code: CBS. One strategy could save you $1,000 or $10,000 or maybe $50,000 when you build or remodel.
25,000 pages of free owner-builder resources.  We accept no ads.

Architect/O-B needs Financing

Filter by date: and/or Keyword

Reply... Subscribe to this topic

Jason's Forum Posts: 5
Interview Answers: 2

Private Message

Randomly Selected Image

Login to Vote

By Jason in Phoenix, AZ on 2/20/2007

I need financing advice. I am an architect in Phoenix, AZ with 10 years experience, including construction administration. A year ago my wife and I purchased a 1+ acre piece of land north of Phoenix (Desert Hills). We put $35K down and financed the remaining $128K. I have complete plans for a home I designed with building permits in hand from Maricopa County. I have bid the project with reliable subs for a total construction cost of $293K. Total project cost will be $421K (including lot payoff). The house is a net zero energy house, utilizing energy-efficient design and materials, as well as PV solar panels.

Here is my dilemma.

My current FICO score is 640 and wife is at 575 due to medical collection which will be cleared by the end of the month. I have already gone through the application process with two lenders, being assured that all the numbers look like they are within acceptable limits, only to waste 4-6 weeks and find out we were not approved.

I have been declined by Washington Federal Savings, a lender I enjoyed doing business with as they are a small-type operation with personal interactions, but I did not qualify after all. I was also declined by Chase Bank, which was processed through a mortgage broker.